Lists

I make lists for just about everything in my life.  Every day, I write a to-do list for myself.  I make lists of pros and cons every time I have a big decision to make.  There’s something reassuring and motivating about writing things down and having them in list form.  For me, lists make everything seem less daunting.  It’s also important for me to make lists to keep track of good things and stuff that I have to look forward to in order to make sure that they are remembered.  Count your blessings, you know?  Lately I have been creating a few lists in my mind and I decided that this would be a good place to document them.

After recently discovering Spotify (a music app that is akin to Pandora, but in my opinion so much better) I have been on the hunt for the world’s greatest running songs.  Some miles are really difficult: there are hills, or cramps, or aches, or just a general desire to call it quits.  These moments are when truly great songs (or at least songs with a truly great beat and some positive lyrics) have the ability to push me forward and keep me going.  So… Here’s a list of some of my recent favorites:

1.  Tom Petty I Won’t Back Down
2.  The Beatles Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da 
3.  Rihanna Umbrella
4.  Florence + The Machine Dog Days Are Over
5.  The Foo Fighters Times Like These
6.  Queen Don’t Stop Me Now
7.  Weezer Buddy Holly
8.  Eminem The Real Slim Shady
9.  Katie Perry Roar
10.  No Doubt Hella Good

Another list that I have been meaning to write is a bucket list of sorts.  Reading stories in blogs and magazines about participating in all kinds of marathons and other running events has led to a few new dreams and goals of my own.  Here are some:

1.  Finally splurge on a freakin’ Nike + SportWatch
2.  Run a marathon
3.  Qualify for the Boston Marathon
4.  Run the Boston Marathon
5.  Run a marathon in another country
6.  Run the New York Marathon
7.  Run the Nike Women’s Marathon

Sometimes the best way to keep from becoming stagnant and turning into mush is to create goals and chip away at them day by day. I’m a work in progress.

-L

Leave a comment